Cawritergirl's Blog

August 7, 2010

Walking IS Meditation

Filed under: meditation,nature,walking — by cawritergirl @ 11:44 PM
Tags: , ,

I just read an article that someone put up on Twitter.  The amazing article explains that research is being done to confirm some things that we already know.  Open green spaces help to reduce stress and keep us all healthy.  I remember when I was living in Hoboken, NJ, and attending Stevens Institute of Technology.  I lived on campus for a couple of years before moving a few miles north to West New York.  Anyway, it was less than a five-minute walk to get down to the Hudson River.  I used to go and walk there at night.  Or I’d go and walk there when I was upset about something.  Walking out in nature, especially near bodies of water, helps you to think.  It’s okay to think about things that are bothering you.  It is not good to sweep it under the carpet and pretend these things don’t exist.  If you give yourself enough time to deal with things that are going on in your life, you will work them out for yourself.  Meditation also helps, but as I wrote in my personal essay that I submitted with my application to Stevens, walking IS meditation.  Walking, even when you are also thinking, helps you to go into an altered state where you can work on issues of concern.  This is much better than holding hurt or pain or worry inside.  Give it a try.  You’ll feel better about yourself and the world around you.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

